Neath Swimming & Turkish Baths Company Limited

This is a single frame, printer-friendly page taken from Malcolm Shifrin's website
Victorian Turkish Baths: their origin, development, and gradual decline

Visit the original page to see it in its context and with any included images or notes

Original page

To the companies list

Neath Swimming & Turkish Baths Company Limited
Company baths: NEATH: Church Place / Old Market Street

As handwriting is often unclear, all name transcriptions below are indicative only.
When accuracy is important, the original documents should be consulted.
PRO (Public Record Office) documents are at The National Archives, Kew.

Two of the directors of this company, with other subscribers who were not members of it, later formed the Neath Turkish Baths Company Limited which opened a new set of baths in Alfred Street in 1893.

TNA: PRO: BT31 3532/21553 All unfootnoted information is taken from this file.

1885 Memorandum of Association: 1 September
Objects include: 'to acquire the business of Turkish and other Baths now carried on by the Neath Baths Company Limited at Church Place, Neath...'
Capital: 2,500 divided into 2,500 shares of 1, payable 5/- on application, 5/- on allotment, and balance by monthly calls of 5/-
Subscribers include:
Evans, Evan (1 share) Police Sergeant
Jones, Iain Cym (1 share) Architect
Pendall, Charles I (1 share) Solicitor
Peters, Alexander (1 share) Plumber
Snow, William (1 share) Accountant
Stephens, J (1 share) Surgeon
Williams, Thomas (1 share) Solicitor
Registered Office: Post Office Chambers, Wind Street (13 October)
Secretary: Thomas Williams

1891 No returns were filed
Dissolved under Clause 7(4): 8 December

This page last updated 04 November 2018


Victorian Turkish Baths: their origin, development, and gradual decline

Home pageSite mapSearch the site

Comments and queries are most welcome and can be sent to:
The right of Malcolm Shifrin to be identified as the author of this work
has been asserted by him in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988

  Malcolm Shifrin, 1991-2022