Balneum Laconicum Company Limited

This is a single frame, printer-friendly page taken from Malcolm Shifrin's website
Victorian Turkish Baths: their origin, development, and gradual decline

Visit the original page to see it in its context and with any included images or notes

Original page

To the companies list

Balneum Laconicum Company Limited
Company baths: LONDON: 23 Leicester Square

As handwriting is often unclear, all name transcriptions below are indicative only.
When accuracy is important, the original documents should be consulted.
PRO (Public Record Office) documents are at The National Archives, Kew.

TNA: PRO: BT31 1989/8529 All unfootnoted information is taken from this file.

1874 Memorandum of Association: 3 July

Objects include: to purchase the lease of 23 Leicester Square,

'now occupied as a Turkish Bath and in the possession of the Reverend Henry Jones Master of Arts with the goodwill of the Baths, and all his present or future interest in the said premises at and for the sum of fully paid up shares of the said Balneum Laconicum Company Limited...'

Capital: 2,000 divided into 40 shares of 50
Braithwaite, Charles John (1 share) Accountant
Curtis, George Brynon (2 shares) Journalist
Jones, Henry, The Rev, (8 shares)
Lemon, William George (2 shares) Barrister
Ryan, Thomas (2 shares) Landed proprietor, Dublin
Tomkins, Fred (4 shares) Barrister (Ch)
Wilkinson, William Martin (1 share) Solicitor
and three others holding 7 shares between them
Registered Office: 23 Leicester Square (7 July)
Secretary: Charles John Braithwaite

1875 Average number of shareholders: 12, holding 30 shares

1878 Average number of shareholders: 10, holding 30 shares

1885 No returns were filed between the years 1881 and 1885
Dissolved under Clause 7(4): 17 July

This page last updated 04 November 2018


Victorian Turkish Baths: their origin, development, and gradual decline

Home pageSite mapSearch the site

Comments and queries are most welcome and can be sent to:
The right of Malcolm Shifrin to be identified as the author of this work
has been asserted by him in accordance with the Copyright, Designs and Patents Act 1988

  Malcolm Shifrin, 1991-2022